Home(made) for the Holidays, Part 2

Christmas is coming early this year (and Hanukkah is right on time)!

I’m traveling today to visit my beloved mama and papa for a full week. It’s been a really long time since I’ve had that luxury, and I’m so happy. The anticipated daily schedule will be: sleep, get fed, be taken shopping, get fed, nap, get fed, sit in dad’s massage chair, sleep. Books are getting packed so I can lie to myself about “getting caught up” on my reading list, but it’s really to lend authenticity as I pass out in the massage chair with one folded open on my lap.

Before I go, I’m sharing one of the cookie recipes promised in Sunday’s drool-inducing post. These are Swiss butter cookies with a really light hint of citrus. I’m thinking about adding some candied lemon rind on top to kick the citrus up a notch next time.

You’ll need:
4 eggs
1-1/4 cups sugar
1-1/8 cups butter, left out of fridge on purpose to soften
1 dash of salt (possibly a pinch)
4 cups flour
1-1/2 teaspoons grated lemon zest
2 egg yolks

Whisk eggs and then mix sugar in thoroughly. Add butter and salt (much easier if the butter’s soft, we learned the hard way). Once that’s all blended well, slowly add in the flour and zest til it’s all incorporated. Cover and refrigerate for an hour.

Preheat oven to 325. Grease cookie pans or (trick I just learned from my mad scientist friend) pull out the oven rack and cover in foil. Super smart! Just umm, make sure you have the rack right-side up when you do this, so it slides back into the oven when you’re ready to bake (again, we learned the hard way).

When the dough’s ready, flour up some flat surface and roll it out to 1/4 inch thickness. Use an insane amount of cookie cutters (my friend inherited a lot of random cutters, and we had fun trying to figure out some of the shapes).

seriously, what ARE some of these?

Beat the two egg yolks (poor yolks) and brush the tops of all the cookies. Bake for 15-20 mins, until you see the edges start to turn that delicious golden color.

We had a lot of fun making these, and I hope you do too!

Leave a Reply

